Letters that Will Never Be Sent

12 Sep

Sometimes you have something you want to tell someone, but you just can’t tell him or her for whatever reason.  Maybe he or she won’t react well to your message.  Maybe he or she would ignore it anyway.  Maybe he  or she doesn’t really need to hear or read your message, but you need to get it out and you find just writing it down cathartic.  Perhaps, like me, you really want him or her to receive your message and take it to heart, but you don’t have the courage to send it directly. 

Sometimes I have something I want to say to someone so badly that it hurts, but I just can’t bring myself to do it.  I’ve written countless unsent letters.  While the hypothetical recipient never does get the message, I feel better for having written it.  Now I’m going to try to go one tiny step further and post such letters here.  They’ll be categorized as “Letters that Will Never Be Sent.”  Will these letters ever reach their intended recipients?  Maybe.  Who knows.  But with readership at about ten blog hits a day, that’s a pretty big crap shoot. 

So, here it goes.  My first unsent letter is to someone who has been keeping me at arm’s length for quite some time.  He doesn’t understand that I want to be his friend, and that I would be a good friend to him.

You need to know that I would be there for you.

You need to know that I would always have your back.

You need to know that I have confidence in you.

You need to know that all you have to do is ask, and it’s yours.

You need to know that you’ll have  a hard time finding anyone more loyal. 

You need to know I won’t abandon you.

Above all else, you need to know that I can see how special you are and that I care about you.

Leave a Reply

