Schrodinger’s Jewette

6 Apr

For those of you who aren’t familiar with Schrodinger, he was a physicist and biologist considered the father of quantum mechanics. He conducted an experiment involving his cat, a box, and some poison. I’m not quite sure of the details (Wikipedia him if you like), but somehow the poor cat gets put in a box with a flask of poison.  If something happens, the flask breaks releasing the poison and killing the cat.  (I know!  What kind of bastard was this guy?  Well, I’m hoping it was more of a hypothetical situation than an actual experiment.  Sounds like that’s the case.  That’s what I’m telling myself, anyway.)  Until Eddie (his first name was Edwin) opened the box he wouldn’t know if his cat was alive or dead, so his theory was that it was both alive and dead.

What does that have to do with me?  (No, I’m not being kept in a box by some crazy Austrian — they’re always Austrian, aren’t they?  Don’t call the police.  I’m okay.  Really.)  Well, when someone compares something to Schrodinger’s cat, they’re saying that the object of the comparison both IS and IS NOT.  That didn’t answer the question, did it?  No.  It didn’t.

You know what?  This is going to be hard to explain.  Please bear with me.  Today on the way home, I ran into an old high school friend on the bus.  I had gone to a networking event that I really didn’t want to attend and I left a minute before I should have left.  I got on a bus and went all the way to the back of the bus to sit down.  When I sat down, I saw Chuck.  It’s always great to see an old friend, but this meeting was especially lucky.  Chuck works for a consulting firm that interests me.  Chuck’s a good guy, he offered to help me and I didn’t even have to ask.

Yeah, it’s taking me a bit of time to get to the point.  Thanks for staying with it so far.  Let’s assess the situation:  I’m looking for work, Chuck’s offering to help hook me up with people in his company.  This is good, right?  I’m going to follow up and get right on that, right?  There’s the rub.  There’s where I’m a box with a flask of poison.  I like to be in this place, this “there’s a possibility of something” place.  Right now, I’m Schrodinger’s job applicant.  Once I start acting on the lead, I’m moving towards something either being IS or IS NOT.  Before I act, right now, I both AM and AM NOT.

This time, I”m going to get moving and risk breaking the flask.

Leave a Reply

