Bastard

10 Aug

The dialogue is the result of an exercise in a creative writing class.  I tried to keep it pretty spare.  Does it work?  What do you think?

“Just for one day?  You can’t live without it for one day?” I asked.

“What if I had to go somewhere?” my father replied.

“I’ll take you.  Where do you have to go?” I asked.

“I don’t know.  What if I run out of my medication?”  He said. 

“Call the pharmacy and I’ll pick it up for you,” I said.

“No, not having a car makes me nervous,” he said. 

“It’s just one damned day!” I said. 

“Why can’t you borrow Kelly’s car?” he asked.

“She needs it to take Jesse to a birthday party and then to tap,” I told him.

“That won’t take long.  Borrow Kelly’s car,” he said again.

“She has other stuff to do.  Why can’t you help me with this?” I asked.

“I told you I might have to go somewhere,” he said.  He turned away no longer able to look me in the eye.

“I have to take Justin to the dentist and get him to his little league game up in Homewood.  Dad, please.  Just lend me your car for one day.  I’ll get it washed and return it with a full tank of gas,” I said.

“I can’t,” he said.

“What do you have to do?  What’s more important than your grandchildren?” I asked.  I hated to play that card, but it was the only one I had.

“No, no, no!” he said.

“Or who’s more important?  You need to drive Cheryl around?  She need her hair done?  She want to go shopping at the outlets?” I asked.

“No.  My grandkids are more important than Cheryl.  You know it, they know it, she knows it,” he said.

“Then give me your car.  Kelly can drop me off tomorrow morning and pick me up late in the afternoon,” I said.

“No.  I can’t.  I just can’t,” he said.

“You selfish old bastard,” I said.

“Go borrow your mother’s car,” he said.

 

Leave a Reply

